The Goldendale Sentinel - Headlines & History since 1879

Looking Back

June 25, 2014

 


50 Years Ago - June 25, 1964

• The seven year dreams and ambitions of the East Klickitat Gem and Mineral Club came into realization this spring when the Indian petroglyphs, which would eventually be covered by water in the pool above the John Day Dam, were moved to the park near Roosevelt.

The famed Chinook rock, which weights approximately 30 tons, and the Coyote rock, which is estimated at 25 tons, were brought to the park site on lowboys furnished by the Peter Hewitt Construction Company. Both rocks were placed facing north in the same position that they stood for centuries.

75 Years Ago - June 29, 1939

• Offering triple attractions of dancing, swimming and picnicking, Blockhou...



For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 08/11/2018 14:54