U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), joined by Senators Ron Wyden (D-OR) and Alex Padilla (D-CA), wrote to Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg last week calling on him to give full consideration to any petitions from states that have voted to move to permanent Daylight Saving Time (DST) to switch time zones and effectively establish permanent DST until a federal legislative solution can be reached. The letter is the latest part of Murray’s continued push to allow Washington and other states to move to permanent DST.

“With the nation reverting to standard time Sunday, November 7, we write concerning our states’ and our constituents’ desires to adopt Daylight Saving Time (DST) on a permanent basis. As senators representing states that comprise the Pacific Time Zone, we are hopeful that a regulatory pathway might provide the most expeditious way for Western states to enact current or future state laws on this issue,” the senators wrote.

“We fully recognize that ultimately a longer legislative path will be necessary to ensure all states that have passed permanent DST language can enact similar laws. However, considering there is a process to more immediately enact the will of state voters on permanent DST, we anticipate some states will opt to petitions for time zone changes in the near future to obtain expeditious relief,” the senators continued. “To that end, we write to respectfully request that the Department move swiftly to give full and fair consideration to these petitions if and when they are submitted to ensure states are able to move to permanent DST as soon as possible.”