The Goldendale Sentinel - Headlines & History since 1879

County added to Stage 1 burn bans


The Washington State Department of Ecology (Ecology) has added Klickitat County to seven other counties in which burn bans are in effect.

Ecology says Stage 1 burn bans in Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas, Stevens and Walla Walla counties will continue. In addition, Stage 1 bans start immediately in Asotin, Klickitat and Okanogan counties, according to the Washington Department of Ecology (Ecology).

Bans are necessary since poor air quality and stagnant conditions are expected to continue for the next few days, the department states.

Ecology’s Stage 1 burn ban will continue until at least 4 p.m. next Wednesday, when they could be called off or extended. The Stage 1 ban applies to the use of uncertified wood-burning devices (including wood stoves, inserts and fireplaces) and to all outdoor burning.

All outdoor burning—including residential, agricultural and forest burning—is prohibited.

Under a Stage 1 ban, the use of uncertified wood-burning devices—including fireplaces, wood stoves and inserts—is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat.

Certified wood-burning devices and pellet stoves are allowed. Ecology recommends burning hot fires using only clean, dry wood. No excessive smoke is allowed from any wood-burning device beyond a 20-minute start-up.

Ecology’s burn bans do not apply on tribal reservations, where the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has jurisdiction.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018