Sheriff hosts Search & Rescue Volunteer appreciation dinner


January 17, 2018


APPRECIATED: SAR volunteers were honored at a special dinner last week.

On Tuesday, Jan. 9, Klickitat County Sheriff Bob Songer thanked the Klickitat County Search & Rescue volunteers at the annual appreciation night in Goldendale.

Songer, County Commissioner Jim Sizemore, and SAR Coordinator Jeff King commended the volunteers for their dedication and commitment. In 2017 the Klickitat County SAR volunteers donated a total of 4,052 hours, including missions, training and public relations events. Songer pledged his continued support for the Search & Rescue Program.

The sheriff recognized each member and their families, saying how much he appreciated their contributions and dedication to the Search & Rescue Program. Commissioner Sizemore spoke of his pride in the character of the citizens in Klickitat County as evidenced by the SAR Volunteer's level of dedication and professionalism in donating their time to helping people in their time of greatest need.

Three new members were recognized with commemorative SAR pins. Years-of-Service recognition went to Donald Morgan (posthumously) for five years, and eight members for 10 years of volunteer service, including Al Barrigar, Tim Hardin, Tom Ireland, Jane Lee, Dorothy Miller, Martin Nagel, Russ Patton, and Al Morrongiello. Special recognition for 2017 was given to "Rookie of the Year" Angie Hoffman and "Volunteer of the Year" Dorothy Miller.

The awards ceremony was concluded with a potluck dinner.

Klickitat County Search & Rescue Volunteers are looking forward to another successful year in 2018 starting on Jan. 16 with the Basic Training Academy. If you would like information about joining the Klickitat County Search & Rescue Team, contact the Sheriff's Office at 773-4455 or read more about KCSAR activities and download an application at or follow "Klickitat County Search and Rescue" on Facebook.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019