The Goldendale Sentinel - Headlines & History since 1879

State Noxious Weed Control Board sets hearing


October 10, 2018

The Washington State Noxious Weed Control Board (WSNWCB) will hold a public hearing on Nov. 6 in Wenatchee to take comments on proposed rule-making changes to the 2019 state noxious weed list. This year the changes proposed consist primarily of changes to Class B noxious weed designations. Then hearing will take place from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. at the Coast Wenatchee Center Hotel, 201 N Wenatchee Ave., Wenatchee.

How to comment:

• Mail written testimony to: WSNWCB; P.O. Box 42560; Olympia, WA 98504-2560.

• Send comments by email to

• Attend the public hearing to provide written or verbal testimony in person.

Written testimony should be submitted by 5 p.m. Monday, Nov. 5, or brought to the public hearing on Nov. 6. At the hearing, verbal testimony will be limited to three minutes per person, with an additional opportunity to speak if time allows.

At the same location, the WSNWCB will vote on the proposed rule changes during its regular board meeting, which will be held the next day, Nov. 7, beginning at 9 a.m. This meeting is also open to the public.

Proposed Class B designation changes to the 2019 state noxious weed list:

The WSNWCB will be considering the following designation changes to these Class B noxious weeds:

• Brazilian elodea (Egeria densa): undesignate in Cowlitz County; designate in Pacific and Snohomish counties

• Butterfly bush (Buddleja davidii): designate in San Juan and Grays Harbor counties

• Camelthorn (Alhagi maurorum): designate in Walla Walla County

• Dalmatian toadflax (Linaria dalmatica ssp. dalmatica): designate in Cowlitz, Kittitas, and Franklin counties

• Diffuse knapweed (Centaurea diffusa): designate in Mason County

• Eurasian watermilfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum): undesignate in Cowlitz County and designate in Mason County and Kittitas County except for the Columbia River

• European coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara): designate in Adams, Lincoln, Benton, and Franklin counties

• Fanwort (Cabomba caroliniana): designate in Grays Harbor County

• Grass-leaved arrowhead (Sagittaria graminea): designate in Mason County

• Hairy willow-herb (Epilobium hirsutum): designate in Walla Walla County

• Hoary alyssum (Berteroa incana): undesignate in Ferry and Spokane counties

• Houndstongue (Cynoglossum officinale): designate in Douglas and Franklin counties

• Indigobush (Amorpha fruticosa): undesignate in Skamania County

• Nonnative hawkweed species and hybrids, wall subgenus (Hieracium): undesignate in Skamania and Clark counties

• Nonnative hawkweed species and hybrids, meadow subgenus (Pilosella): undesignate in Skamania County and designate in Ferry County

• Meadow knapweed (Centaurea x moncktonii): undesignate in Skamania and Clark counties

• Purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria): designate in Mason County

• Spotted knapweed (Centaurea stoebe): undesignate in Skamania and Clark counties

• Shiny geranium (Geranium lucidum): undesignate in Skamania County

Additionally the WSNWCB will consider updating the scientific name of five noxious weeds, specifically, kochia: Kochia scoparia to Bassia scoparia; leafy spurge: Euphorbia esula to Euphorbia virgata; Himalayan knotweed: Polygonum polystachyum to Persicaria wallichii; Russian knapweed: Acroptilon repens to Rhaponticum repens; tansy ragwort: Senecio jacobaea to Jacobaea vulgaris.

Visit for more information about these listing proposals and other noxious weeds.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 11/02/2019 20:47